While you don’t have access to update Cancellation and Blackout times in your Practice Admin portal, these are two settings that Healthengine can update for you!
By default, Healthengine has a blackout time of 1 hour - what this means is that appointments will only show up to an hour before the appointment time and then will be hidden.
This is to allow patients enough time to arrive to your practice for their appointment from wherever they might be booking it.
For example, if it is 10am, the next appointment available to be booked online would be 11am.
You can also use the blackout time to allow yourselves more time to prepare for the appointment. For example, some practices who have staff that are not always at the location might want a blackout time of 6 hours, so that they have enough time to get to the practice or prepare for the appointment.
Your blackout time can be changed to any amount of time you prefer.
By default, Healthengine has a cancellation time of 2 hours - what this means is that a patient will only be able to cancel their appointment online up to 2 hours before the appointment time. If they try to cancel within the 2 hours then they will have to call the practice to cancel their appointment.
Your cancellation time can be changed to any amount of time you prefer.
One thing to keep in mind if you decide to increase your practices cancellation time is that it could mean more work for your front desk staff as they then have to take the cancellation calls over the phone.
Please Note: The blackout and cancellation times can only be set as an overall practice setting, not on an individual practitioner level.
Not all practice management software allows cancellations online.
For assistance with making changes, reach out to our friendly Healthengine Support Team via phone, chat or email email@example.com